The Frank A. Chambers Excellence in Air Pollution Control Award

Honors & Awards Committee Chair

Edith Ardiente
VP, Environmental Affairs and Energy
Navistar, Inc.

This award--established by resolution of the Board of Directors on February 12, 1954--is awarded for out-standing achievement by an individual in the science and art of air pollution control. It requires accomplishment of a technical nature on the part of the recipient that is considered to be a major contribution to the science and art of air pollution control, the merit of which has been widely recognized by persons in the field.

The coverage is intentionally broad, since it is expected to recognize achievement in any line of technical endeavor in air pollution control from pure research to applied science.

Frank A. Chambers (1885-1951) was a founder of the Smoke Prevention Association of America, forerunner of the Air & Waste Management Association, and almost single-handedly established the foundation of our present Association. His ideas have been put into operation in many cities in the United States. The Frank A. Chambers Award may be awarded to members and nonmembers of the Association.

Click Here to Download Application


Past Recipients

2010         Delbert Eatough
2009         William C. Malm
2008         -
2007         Peter K. Mueller
2006         Robert K. Stevens, Sr.
2005         George Hidy
2004         -
2003         Paul J. Lioy
2002         Judith C. Chow
2001         Donald L. Blumenthal
2000         John G. Watson
1999         S. Trivikrama Rao
1998         Viney P. Aneja
1997         George T. Wolff
1996         Donald Stedman
1995         William R. Pierson *
1994         Humberto Bravo Alvarez
1993         Thomas T. Shen*
1992         D. Bruce Turner
1991         R.K.M. Jayanty
1990         Donald F. Adams*
1989         Hanwant B. Singh
1988         Andrew Dravnieks *
1987         Senichi Masuda
1986         Jack G. Calvert
1985         Julian P. Heicklen
1984         Robert E. Munn
1983         Bernard Weinstock *
1982         James N. Pitts, Jr.
1981         Walter W. Heck

1980         Hiromi Niki
1979         -
1978         Gaylord W. Penney
1977         Irving A. Singer
1976         Richard B. Engdahl
1975         E. R. Hendrickson *
1974         James P. Lodge
1973         W.L. Faith *
1972         -
1971         Harry White *
1970         A. Paul Altshuller
1969         W. C. L. Hemeon *
1968         Sir Oliver Graham Sutton
1967         -
1966         Louis C. McCabe *
1965         Morris A. Katz *
1964         Charles W. Gruber*
1963         -
1962         Bert L. Richards
1961         Philip A. Leighton
1960         -
1959         Robert E. Swain *
1958         Arie Jan Haagen-Smit
1957         Walter A. Schmidt *
1956         Ward F. Davidson *
1955         Moyer D. Thomas *

*  Deceased